Sheltered for A Long Time by the PD Family

Started by SomethingElse, May 16, 2019, 12:39:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SomethingElse

I recently had a difficult conversation about abuse that I had been experiencing with a neighbor.
I thought that the neighbor might have empathy to offer. And they had sympathy to offer, but not much empathy. The PD family members AND parent I had been living with for so many years poisoned all my relationships.

Its hard for me to admit that I was so sheltered for so long. It's frightening when I admit to others that I , for example...just learned to balance my budget in my thirties...or learned how to make good quality friends only recently. My family life was so insane, most of the time when I start to talk about it finally, it still feels surreal. And not just that, but it hurts that I could not become an adult until now. How is it possible that I am the most adult person in my family, and I am just learning to balance my household budget and pay bills for example? Has anyone had this experience where their PD family members all worked together to make them completely disabled in life, just so that the non PD person would stick around and help the PD family members?
It feels so unreal sometimes that I have a difficult time believing the rest of the normal world doesnt work like this?

LifeIsWorthLiving