Would a real friend behave like that?

Started by notrightinthehead, June 21, 2019, 05:37:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

notrightinthehead

I have this female friend who has been extremely helpful the last years, looking after my house when I was travelling, having me around for tea and listening to my rants about my NPDh, occasionally going with me to talks and movies. She is a teacher by profession, so she tends to be a bit of a know all, explaining basic things to me. She was supportive when the final break up with my NPDh happened, invited me several times over the last year and discussed my relationship with him.
Now I am so much better, mostly happy and working on my new life, making new acquaintances who share my interests, meeting up with people from my past. I had two really wonderful weeks with good company and felt really good  about myself when I did a group activity with this particular friend on Sunday.  All went well in my mind and I had a few laughs with one of the other ladies.
On Wednesday morning I received a text from this friend, cancelling an arrangement for the following week and informing me that she wants to distance herself. I asked why and the reply was that she feels like it. I then asked if I had unknowingly hurt her, but to that I did not receive a reply.

Of course, being prone to guilt and people pleasing I can think of a multitude of things that could have offended her. However, nothing that could not be talked about and cleared up, in my mind.

I think that a normal, 'real' friend would tell me what I did to annoy her, not 'break up' with me and leave me hanging. Or she would withdraw quietly for a while without announcing it. Am I wrong? What am I not seeing? What do you think a normal friend would do?
I can't hate my way into loving myself.

clara