Opportunity to whistleblow

Started by mimzy, August 20, 2019, 10:51:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mimzy

Oh boy. I work as an administrative assistant in a financial office. The woman who is in charge of managing the administrative assistants (among other things)  - let's call her Beth - has a reputation for being difficult and deluded , i.e. gaslighting when employees have the courage to come to her and give negative feedback about her behavior, stopping the negative behavior for a spell and then ramping it up, saying do this and then, when the employee does it, claim she said do it differently. It's gaslighting at its worst. Although I have (yet) to be on the receiving end of this (I keep my distance) I have seen a couple colleagues bear the brunt of her gaslighting. One colleague (let's call her Sue) was getting hammered in particular this whole year. (Sue is the one who had the courage to speak up to Beth's face but, ultimately, Beth's behavior never changed. In fact, it just got worse.) The final straw for Sue was when she helped organize an employee outing and Beth thanked two other subordinates (in front of the whole office) for pitching in and left out Sue. Beth also took the two subordinates out to lunch as a gesture to thank them for helping out and did not invite sue. When sue asked her why, Beth said she should take it up with HR. Well, sue had enough and quit. She also let HR know about the gaslighting/verbal abuse on the way out in her exit interview. Now HR would like to speak to more administrative assistants. Rumor has it that Beth's job is on the line and this might be HR's way of making a case for getting her out. Now, Beth and I have had a cordial relationship thus far but it's not for lack of me being very, very careful where to step. I was bothered by how she treated Sue and think that Beth has behaved very unprofessionally. I hesitate to raise my hand and speak with HR since I've learned that that is a no no. (Nothing you say to HR is c