Moving To The New Phase - Looking For A Home

Started by Kat54, August 22, 2019, 08:38:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kat54

The next phase of the divorce is coming. We have a stipulation agreement to sign, and then my stxh will have 45 days after its signed to secure the mortgage and the money he will have to buy me out of our house.  As my lawyer says this all looks good on paper.  He thinks this is all smoke and mirrors and will all blow up in his face and he will not be able to purchase the house. Praying this is not the case.

My next dilemma that I have to work out is where will I live. I'll have enough for a down payment toward a home, plus I have some money from an inheritance from my father that I will use some of.  My family all are weighing in with opinions so its making me a little crazy.  Don't buy a house, purchase a condo or townhouse, less work as far as yard, maintenance.  Buy a condo or townhouse, I have to consider my artwork. I'm an artist and need a studio, like an entire room, and its storing artwork, paints, easel's.  Right now most of my art supplies are in the house we own together but that will all have to move. A house will work better maybe, unless I find a place that has a lower level for storage.