Do you do tit for tat?

Started by StayWithMe, September 08, 2019, 08:33:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

StayWithMe

I was taught that that was a petty way to behave so I avoided.  Instead, opting for those "open, hoenst" dialogues, gaining agreement ..... yuo know negotiating for a fair solution.

Now that I see how life is easier when negotiating through actions, I may not go back.

I was on the bus a couple of days ago when a woman was playing something from her phone.  Intead of asking her to use earphones, turn it down or just plain wait, I just started playing music on mine without earphones.  Of ocurse, I thought about the other passengers, but apparently the other woman did not.

It worked like a charm.  She put her offending toy away.

But it's funny how you have to think about doing this stuff.  I'm sure many people don't even give it a second thought.

notrightinthehead

That only seems to work with normal people. When I tried it with my NPDh he just upped his game. Whatever I tried, he found a worse response.
I can't hate my way into loving myself.

Associate of Daniel

Unfortunately my pds do this a lot and it's really hard not to be drawn into it.

A simple request by me for a change of time for a pickup can actually be a leap into a rabbit hole of tit for tat. It's one of their manipulation tactics.

I will write more later when I have time.

AOD

Associate of Daniel

Unfortunately we sometimes have to go the merry go round of tit for tat in order to get something that we or our children need.

I admit though that I recently made a request of uNPD exH that I didn't really need  or expect, knowing that it would lead to him doing the whole non sensical tit for tat thing.

What I requested was a normal, fair and reasonable thing that would not become an issue with a non. And it was something that I would not usually request of uNPD exH as I know the drama that would ensue. I normally would just let it go and give up what was rightly mine.