Seriously losing my mind

Started by Peacedog, October 14, 2019, 10:36:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peacedog

So I am divorced but rent from my un-diagnosed borderline ex.  Where we live it is cost prohibitive and would put me outside my daughter's current school district to live on my own...we live in an affluent area and I am only a teacher so I could not afford a home/apartment and child support. So to some degree I am trapped.  My daughter is 13 and in 5 years she will be off to college and then I will at least be 50% free until she marries.  I have made some inroads with regards to her mother in terms of daily interaction and I feel that my forcing the divorce let her know that I was drawing a line on some level, but she has slowly slipped back into her borderline behavior and now I find myself facing the same kind of aggressive manipulation as before, only now I have seceded my rights to the house in the divorce, have only 1/3 of the money I received for it in the agreement and honestly no family or friends near by and am starting to feel like a hostage in open sight.  I am tougher than nails and have managed through 20 years of this but don't know if I can make the final 5 without cracking or having a break down or something.  I just don't know how to deal with someone who absolutely will not give an inch.  I have honestly never met anyone like this before and I chose to have a child with her long before I realized what was really going on....i feel so stupid for myself and responsible for my daughter as this is what she has to live with by no choice.  She lets me know she understands mom sees thing in a different way but I cannot do much other than try to lead by example in hopes eventually she will find her own way to light.  I just feel lost....my nails are rusting...not so tough anymore.

notrightinthehead

Welcome Peacedog! I am sorry you had to find us and I am glad you did.