Enmeshed mother daughter relationship

Started by loving worried husband, December 08, 2019, 10:09:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

loving worried husband

Hi all,

I am very new to writing to anyone about concerns but I believe my situation is getting beyond fixable soon. PLEASE tell me if you think I am over reacting and I have broad shoulders so any criticism is welcome.

First of all I love my wife and respect her to no end especially after seeing her go through child birth with our daughter recently. I have a huge issue with her and her mothers relationship which needs some serious boundaries set down but i don't know where to start as my wife feels she is stuck in a bind between having a healthy marriage and a mother who wants her full attention and lives life through my wife. I have brought this all up a few times but very carefully as I don't want to sound like i am attacking anyone (and lets be honest some men can't say things in a nice way although we think we are) :) I just want a better life for me and my family like everyone does but at the moment I have a full time family and a full time Mil who feels she needs to know everything we do every day and my wife tells her everything as she can't say no or ignore her.