Got laid off from toxic job

Started by Aingeal, March 23, 2020, 10:26:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aingeal

I had been working there for over 10 years.  My bosses (the owners) delivered the news without much thought, not seeming to give a $!*#.  "Oh, sorry - we don't have enough work for you to work from home so we'll have to lay you off ".  Very casual, void of emotion.  I admit my first thought was a cartoon dancing Snoopy in my head.  Seriously,  I'd been saving up to quit someday - the toxicity got that bad in the office.  On the other hand I knew I couldn't afford to quit.  The reality is that of course I need a paycheck.   Alto this job took my self esteem and crushed it into the ground.  So I stayed too long, woke up to it all too late very much like the boiled frog anecdote.

I knew my health was suffering because of the job.  In fact, I often wondered if this job was going to kill me.  A secretarial job for jerks/owners that put so much stress on me, my body.  The past year or so I had so many sleepless nights.  Waking at 2 or 3am and Sunday nights were the absolute WORST - Aways dreading going in on Monday. 

In a lot of ways there is the panic and anxiety of I just lost my job  :aaauuugh: :stars:.  On the other hand there are those cartoon dancing Snoopy's in my head that are screaming "I'm FREE.... I'm FREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"  It really felt like I could breathe again.  I'm away from the toxicity....
But on a strange note - my boss insisted that I go apply for unemployment right away on the work computer.  He said he was worried about me waiting too long and I might not get a claim in (stood behind me while I brought up the government webpage)).  Hmmmmm......