Free Mindfulness meditation sessions with Jon Kabat-Zinn

  • 1 Replies
  • 297 Views
*

guitarman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • 999
Free Mindfulness meditation sessions with Jon Kabat-Zinn
« on: April 08, 2020, 06:22:41 AM »
Free livestream Mindfulness meditation sessions every week day on Zoom or online with Jon Kabat-Zinn.

11am PDT, 2pm EDT, 7pm in UK

“Cultivating Mindfulness at this Critical Moment: Daily Practices and Inquiry with Jon Kabat-Zinn“

Subscribe for free for notifications at
http://www.wisdom2conference.com

"Do not let the behaviour of others destroy your inner peace." - Dalai Lama

"You don't have to be a part of it, you can become apart from it." - guitarman

"Be gentle with yourself, you're doing the best you can." - Anon

"If it hurts it isn't love." - Kris Godinez, counsellor and author

*

treesgrowslowly

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • 652
Re: Free Mindfulness meditation sessions with Jon Kabat-Zinn
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2020, 10:49:52 AM »
Just wanted to add a comment regarding trauma and meditation.

For people who have experienced trauma, it seems more and more accepted now that meditation can be triggering. 

It is important that survivors of abuse know that there are different ways to introduce mindfulness into their day in addition to the lying still 'body scan' or other (passive) physical approaches.

Ideally, lying still is restful and calming, but sometimes for some folks, it isn't. Then they feel bad that they are doing it wrong, when there's research to suggest they may just need other approaches.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/ca/blog/body-sense/201105/the-limits-mindfulness