My father says he wants to die

Started by Spirit in the sky, April 10, 2020, 12:31:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Spirit in the sky

The nursing home phoned to say they were concerned my father was in a low mood and was saying he wanted to die. I think the nurse was surprised I didn't react.

I have been hearing those words everyday for the last 6 months and I think I'm immune. The nurse also said his stats were normal but as he's only been there 2 weeks they don't know his patterns of behaviour.

I keep asking myself how I feel? And I feel nothing. Some days I feel sorry for him that he is in a nursing home with no visitors and that he could die there alone.  Do I want to see him ? Truthfully no.

Will I feel relief when he does actually die. Yes. I've been living with this fear and anxiety for years and I don't know if it's empathy fatigue or I've just had enough and emotionally switched off.

I found my old wedding album yesterday and I looked at photos of my father and it was like looking at a stranger. I have no idea who he is, he's just this man who lived with my mother and they fought all the time. He made her cry all the time and that's all I remember.

I've no happy childhood memories, I have no personal mementos that he gave me. I've no stories that he shared with me, I can't remember I'd he ever gave me a kind word, a smile or any genuine affection. I remember him giving me money and then expecting to look after him because he'd paid me.

I don't even believe he is dying, I think he's using the nurse as his fresh narcissistic supply. I've only spoken to her on the phone but she's so kind and caring and I suspect she's just another victim.

nanotech

I'm sending hugs.
I've a dad who is UNPD. I do have some nice memories from my childhood.But then again  I was quite a compliant child. Then, shock horror, I became a teenager.
Teen years -everything hit the fan.

Hugs hugs hugs to you.