Ex makes me the bad guy

Started by eyesopen, April 10, 2020, 01:46:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

eyesopen

I'm new to coparenting - exW moved out at beginning of March, so I'm just starting to see how she's going to handle 50/50 custody of our 6yo daughter.  I'm sure many of you are veterans at this and have figured out ways to minimize (but not eliminate) conflict and collateral damage.

Three times since she moved out last month, exw has asked me for a PIN or password of mine (Netflix, Disney+, the parent account on DD's tablet).  It's all been in the context of "This is for DD.  Since you won't give me your password, I'll just tell her that her Dad won't let her watch Netflix/Disney/use-her-tablet."

So I'm framed as being the controlling parent that won't let his 6yo do stuff at her mom's place that she's allowed to do at mine.  But what I can't explain to a 6yo is that exW is putting me in a double-bind, either I say no and I'm the mean parent or I give away my passwords and exW can do whatever she wants with my online accounts.

I think the real answer is that her mom needs to take full responsibility for DD's needs when it's her parenting time and leave me out of it.  DD want's to watch Netflix/Disney+?  Mom needs to pay for her own subscriptions (or in reality, she's just stealing by using her boyfriend's account).

But with the tablet?  I'm thinking of just buying a second one so DD can have one at each home.  Is that what you all do, phones/tablets/etc just stay with one parent and don't get taken back and forth by the child?  Are there other options I'm not seeing?

sevenyears