Trying to figure out if my ex has npd (very new here)

Started by Zimy, May 12, 2020, 05:27:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zimy

Hi, all.
So I am very new to this but I'm in a constant battle with myself everyday. I'm looking for some help because I have no where else to go.

I will make this as short as possible. I have dated a guy off and on for six years now. We recently split up because he wanted to try and meet someone new. I was devastated but he came back two weeks later. Even more recently (3 weeks ago) we broke up again. This time it was me who left him. I left because he wouldn't talk to me and wouldn't listen to anything I had to say without fighting with me! I tried very hard to fix things things but he was so mad at me he just yelled and told me to move on.

He was great when we first met but I did soon realize he was an addict to several things. He got very mean and would hurt me mentally and physically. Not to mention most of the time he was in and out of jail/prison. I tried everything to help him.

After he was released this last time he got the help he needed and got clean. This is when I really started to have hope for us. Like I said though we recently broke up and I can't help but feel like it's my fault. In my mind I was always there for him but maybe I could've done more. We had just bought a house a few days before we broke up and we have a son together. He always said he loved me no matter what and would never hurt me. Although he cheated several times he always begged for forgiveness!

I could go on and on but what I'm really looking for here is just some help to rest my mind. I'm beating myself up constantly and I've even considered that maybe I have narsassistic personality disorder! I have all the information I just can't seem to piece it all together on my own.

I just don't understand how him and I could face so much together to finally get away from it just for him to leave.