another part of the story

Started by mcmlxxix, June 16, 2020, 07:51:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mcmlxxix

I'm getting tired of all the effects that have built up.  My marriage has gone down the tubes.  My mom has been putting stuff in my husband's head.  She's what Lundy Bancroft calls a water torturer and she basically puts subtle drips in the bucket to overflow.  If you try to point out the bucket being about to overflow, then she points out the most recent drop while trying to tell you to ignore the bucket.  She's always threatening to make me look crazy.  She takes advantage of the way women are perceived for not being soft spoken, and as well takes advantage of her own soft-spokenness.  Now my husband is judging me for the things I didn't have the opportunity to do.  It seems that people don't want to get to know me.  I'm an introvert and have trouble taking initiative sometimes.  I'm trying to be self-taught on the things I should have learned growing up, but my motivation is about one half the time or so.  Anyway, this is awful.

TwentyTwenty

I'm sorry to hear you are going through this.

I can understand why you are tired of this sort of damaging behavior.. and then to think that your husband is now leaning into that narrative as well, adding to your judgment..

At some point, I think you have to be willing to ask yourself: how much damage are you willing to take from anyone, regardless of their relationship to you, and then what are you willing to do to make it stop.

At some point, I stopped giving a sh!t about what anyone anywhere thought of me, and went into self-preservation mode.

Once I rid myself of each and every damaging person, my whole life improved considerably and I became a happy joyful person.

mcmlxxix