Am I crazy or is it the world?

Started by waterfalls, June 18, 2020, 06:01:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

waterfalls

Maybe this is a little off-topic, but I don't have anywhere else to turn. I post here from time to time (I'm an HSP and have an NPD mother). I'm not normally an anxious person, but the pandemic is starting to get to me (like many of you, I'm sure).

I've been working from home for 3 months, but I've been doing even more work than I normally do when I actually am at work. What was especially stressful was having to document in detail what I was doing for each and every hour I was working in order to get paid. I know that compared to many, I was lucky to be able to work from home and keep my job, but working under those conditions caused me to have tightness in my chest.

I recently went to a new GP to check to make sure that it wasn't my heart (I have a history of heart disease in my family) or perimenopause. I explained to the GP that I was feeling stressed because of my current work situation, but wanted to make sure the way I was feeling wasn't due to my family's heart history or perimenopause.

My EKG turned out to be normal, but I found out that the GP put down in my chart that I have GAD (generalized anxiety disorder), ignoring what I said about feeling stressed because of my work circumstances during the pandemic. I contacted the GP, said a mistake was made about the diagnosis of anxiety, but the GP said it won't be taken off my chart.

My husband is good and supportive, but I'm afraid he'll have enough of me being stressed during this pandemic. In all honesty, though, my husband has contributed to my stress in some ways.