Having her move in with us would be a nightmare

Started by Cassandra T, July 05, 2020, 03:31:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cassandra T

This is my first time posting here (except for some replies). I'm 56, happily married and have a mother who is a covert narcissist. She is in her mid-70s with an immune disorder. Eventually, she will probably be unable to live alone, either due to health issues or for her safety. (I'm expecting a huge increase in crime in the next few years according to what some sources with insider knowledge have told me. Let's assume it's correct just for the purpose of this discussion.) So if it starts looking like she needs to stay somewhere, I'm not sure what to do. She can't go to a nursing home if her health fails, because if she catches covid it will be unlikely for her to overcome it due to her immune disorder. Let's also assume for the sake of discussion that covid or some other disease will still be an issue. We may be able to hire someone to stay with her, but if that doesn't work out, the only other alternative is for her to stay with me or my brother. She gets along much better with him and he has a basement, while we have a small house and really don't have room. I can't really ask him to take her in because that's a lot to ask of someone, and he may say why not me instead of him. I'm pretty sure he believes the narrative that I don't get along with her because of "my attitude" or that I'm argumentive or hateful, which she has projected onto me. So I would have to explain everything to him, and we all know how that generally goes. The golden child generally doesn't want to believe the parent has a personality disorder. And really, if she can't take care of herself, she would need a female to help her dress, etc. and that's a lot to ask of my brother's wife and seems like something I should do instead.