Filed for Divorce but Can’t Leave

Started by ASB073020, August 10, 2020, 08:29:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ASB073020

Nearly two weeks ago I filed for divorce. My husband was served on Thursday. He has yet to mention being served and is acting as if nothing happened. He has a history of being controlling and emotionally abusive. He also has outbursts of anger that includes yelling and cussing. When I say controlling he gets angry if something takes longer then he thinks it should. This has even included how long it takes for me to brush my teeth. He disregards my wants and needs and has made fun of me for needing to eat breakfast. Plus name calling to the point of insulting my intelligence. I have my MBA and CPA, but according to him I am incapable of ordering Chinese food for dinner. We have a young daughter who is less then 2 years old and I am pregnant with number 2. I realized I can't raise my children in a house with fighting and anger. I'm afraid of the long term effects on them. They deserve to have happy childhoods. With all that said I am ready to end the marriage and build a positive future for my children. My husband is refusing to move out or even acknowledge the divorce. I have enough money to move out, but I refuse to move without my daughter. I'm afraid if I take her without a court backed custody arrangement I would break the status quo and be ordered for her to return to the home with my husband. What should I do? Has anyone else been in this situation?

Bunnyme