Would this be an appropriate way to enforce a boundary?

Started by DancingStar, August 27, 2020, 04:29:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DancingStar

Please excuse me if this comes across weedy and silly and a bit venting but I am rather new to setting boundaries after realising that for 60 years I've not had any.

I'd describe my mother as a waify/queen covert N.    She's 86 and was recently widowed from my step dad.  She previously lived 200 miles away but she's living for the time being with my sister 10 minutes down the road from me.   I really enjoy my sister's company and love to visit her, but now mum is living there too it means I get to spend lots of time with her.   I'd forgotten how resentful/bitchy/judgmental she is of other people.  And how easily she loses her temper if she's not getting her own way.  She's like a spoiled 86 year old child.   

Yesterday in a conversation with me she was bitching about my 2 nieces.  One of them - who has gone to live with a friend so my mum can have her bedroom - she said she didn't like because she was lazy (niece had visited and sat wrapped in a blanket on the sofa instead of helping her mother with cleaning or whatever).   My other niece has recently moved into a flat with her boyfriend and my sis had bought her a washing machine and hoover, and this according to my mum's rant makes her dis likable because she's greedy and what kind of child takes off their parents like that and how she (mum) would never have dreamed of taking a penny from my grandma & grandpa.