New Here -Any Input About when, why, how, etc. w/LC and/or NC welcome, thank you

Started by D., October 30, 2020, 05:29:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

D.

I am in the process of figuring out the level of current contact that I want with my parents.  I would appreciate any input on what everyone here has learned about how, when, why you went LC or NC.  And anything else you think would be helpful for me to know, consider, hear, etc. 

I believe that my father has an undiagnosed antisocial personality disorder.  My mother is a co-dependent, enabler w/some characteristics of uBPD and just a couple from uNPD.  They both always want to see me, at least monthly.  After visits or talks alone w/my parents I am often sick both physically and mentally.  But if my brother and/or daughter is there it sometimes becomes a pleasant visit.  My brother's wife told me she is planning NC w/my father if his behaviors don't change.

I've been working on my recovery from all of this for about 10 years.  My wonderful husband of 3 years understands and wants me to do whatever works best for me.  I am feeling the full weight of middle age.  Knowing that our lives on this earth will come to an end and wanting to be at peace w/my decisions should any of us pass.

One more thing.  I went NC for a year once, but I wasn't happy at the time, I was depressed.  I did so more out of self-preservation because contact w/my parents hurt so badly during that time.  It was just an intuitive thing.  Now, things are intentional and it feels quite different.

Thank you in advance for any and all input.  I hope to be healed enough one day to be able to reach out and give more on this site, as well as receive.

Hilltop