Blindsided by overwhelming emotions

Started by Stillirise, February 04, 2021, 10:07:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Stillirise

I've been rolling along though my divorce from stbxUPDh for several months now. My anger, grief, etc., associated with processing the aftermath of the relationship has mostly subsided. I've done a ton of self-work, and most days, feel like I'm doing well mentally and emotionally, all things considered.

However, sometimes things just blindside me out of nowhere.  Yesterday, it was seeing an attentive father, with his two little children, walking in town.  Today, it was very kind words for me, from someone I hadn't seen or talked to in quite a long time.  They'd heard about the divorce, and felt the need to reach out.  I hadn't been aware, until now, of how this person felt I'd had a profound positive impact on their life.

Both of these episodes hit me hard, right in the feels.  I expect this is normal, but it is definitely out of character for me, to burst into tears at a touching family scene, which also produced a side of anger/guilt, knowing what my children have missed out on in a father.  Also, while I'm genuinely grateful for receiving a heartfelt compliment, and an extension of someone's support, it's a little embarrassing to melt into a puddle over it!

Hopefully this is yet another healing phase! I'm all for being in touch with my emotions, but maybe not quite this much, at least long-term!
You may shoot me with your words,
You may cut me with your eyes,
You may kill me with your hatefulness,
But still, like air, I'll rise.
—Maya Angelou

all4peace