Snowed in with mom

Started by Sneezy, February 18, 2021, 12:55:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sneezy

Ok, nothing can be done about this, I just have to tough it out.  But I need to vent!  We are in the middle of a winter/snow/ice crisis.  Luckily, we have electricity and heat, although no water.  Mom's senior living (ISL) lost power and a dear friend with four-wheel drive took us through the snow to "rescue" her and get her to our house.  I mean, there was no other option other than leaving her to freeze in her apartment.

And now she is here.  And sighing, and sniffling, and acting very weepy.  And she doesn't want to go back to her apartment, even though her facility now has both heat and water and we are still without water (which means melting snow to flush the toilets, so every extra person in the house is causing more work).  And she keeps wanting me to look at her latest rash (I'm not a doctor) and she called a relative who was mean to her and she can't get warm but it's too hot in the guest room and she really neeeeeds to wash her hair and on and on and on.  I want to shake her and tell her to buck up, Buttercup, and act like an adult.  Yes, this is serious.  And it may get worse before it gets better (can't wait till we get above freezing and find out if our pipes froze or not).  But if we all act like mature adults, we will be fine.  But noooooooo, there may be mold growing in her apartment as we speak.  And did I mention that she called a relative who was mean to her on the phone!!!  Ugh!

I feel like I have a toddler in the house.  I literally just started looking for Disney movies to play to keep her occupied.  Because of course she didn't bring a book, magazine, or anything else to keep herself occupied while she's here.   :doh:

Andeza

Wait, Sneezy, did you say that the facility IS operational again? If so, can you just pack her whining butt up and take her back?