Struggling to accept reality of a PD sibling

Started by willowdreams22, April 05, 2021, 06:52:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

willowdreams22

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on here. So I found out about a month ago that my older sister has a personality disorder. I assume she was diagnosed with BPD, but I personally believe she has traits of ASPD too. I was physically and emotionally abused for as long as I can remember. I'm 20 now. My younger sibling and parents were also abused by her. I don't think that my parents have BPD/ASPD, but rather my birth triggered her to develop a PD as suddenly the attention had to be shared. We also have a three year age gap between the three of us which is the prime time that a PD develops I believe.

I realised that something wasn't quite right when I turned about 18 and saw through all the bs. My sibling has done a lot of attacking, throwing, screaming, punching, damaging property etc throughout the years (started primarily when she was 11 (hence my theory of ASPD - conduct disorder). She threatened suicide last year after we didn't get something for her but she has threatened suicide on multiple occasions growing up. I've grown up in initial fear of her but eventually just had to accept that she is the way she is. My parents did indeed discipline, but she began controlling my parents too (accusing them of being narcissistic and emotionally abusive) and I think they backed down and pondered to her out of fear which I am guilty of doing too. I believe my parents are victims to her abuse just as much as myself and my younger sibling are. I hold a lot of compassion for my parents as they tried their best, but I also feel so angry that they didn't protect us from the abuse. However I know it's my responsibility to control those urges when I do feel upset by it all.