My life is coming into focus

Started by Cookie77, April 07, 2021, 04:32:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cookie77

Hello all! I'm a 40-year-old whose therapist just told her that it sounds like her mother has BPD, and once I started reading about it I can't stop. I've already read Understanding the Borderline Mother, and I've never felt more seen.

My mother is likely a low-functioning hermit who I've been parenting since I was a child. She has no friends and uses me for everything from emotional support, to financial support.

I just got the usual "I don't have anyone else to talk to" this afternoon. It's exhausting to be in her presence. I didn't really realize that the way she parented my brother and I--unable to hold down a job, toxic romantic relationships, locking herself in her room, not eating anything but potato chips and cookies, having no friends/driving away the ones she has, bitterly hating everyone, biting sarcasm and meanness, refusing to use people's names who she hated, feeling threatened by my stepmother, not taking us to doctor appointments, etc--was really unusual until I became a mom of a child with special needs.
It was then that I discovered that she didn't do any of the "grunt work" of parenting. She marveled that I could drive in a big city to bring my daughter to the hospital, and when I said wouldn't you have done that if you had to? She said no. The real break for me came when her own mother was sick with cancer and my daughter recovering from surgery, but she refused to drive my grandmother to her chemo appointments (even just to help me) and insisted that I drive her to a doctor appointment with my freshly operated on infant in a car bed.