Narcissist Mother with BPD - what should I do?

Started by starrynight29, May 17, 2021, 03:07:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

starrynight29

Hey guys! I'm new to this forum and my therapist recommended it to me given my current issues with my mother.
I'm currently toying with the the idea of cutting full contact with her (going NC instead of VLC) but I'm really not sure.

My mother has never been a good mum, she has always guilt tripped us, said we don't love her and that we hate her when we don't answer her calls when we're at work. When she asks us to help her keep on track of her diet, then eats bad food and we try to encourage her (like she asked us) she says things like 'I get it, you think I'm a fat f***ing cow it's okay.' She also got to a point where she owed me over half a grand when I was a broke student and would make me feel bad by saying things like she had no food and was starving, or her car broke down and she needed to get it fixed or that she needed $20 for sanitary products when in fact she would go online and buy jewellery or handbags, food subscriptions or any other useless things she could get.

I moved away from home a few years ago for school and to handle this she tries to call me about 5 times a week whilst I'm working or seeing other family. I've been trying to slowly reduce contact because I feel like talking to her is more of a burden than something to look forward to. She has been emotionally abusive towards both me and my sister for years and after speaking to my therapist for a while I think I'm ready to look at going NC with her.