Company that's taken advantage of me

Started by Jsinjin, September 26, 2021, 05:59:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jsinjin

This will sound like I'm a complete tool crybaby.   I have a an abusive OCPD spouse who is well detailed in other parts of this forum.   I am in a good place in the parts of life that are financial.   I have a career with a lot of engineering, scientific and other credentials.   While I was a professor 17 years go my labs developed a medical device technology that was spun into an incubator and then a public company and then regulatory approval.   I left academia to work there.   The guy who raised the money and then because CEO was a narcissist and eventually the company fell.   The company quit paying employees and I left 12 years ago.   I just left and there was a lawsuit to t y and make me come back and finish a regulatory audit but I got out.   I became a different employee altogether.   12 years later I have a different career with a different job.  Several years ago a private equity firm bought the  company.   Last year they convinced me to come "help".  I have a full time job.  I try to build boundaries but they have me managing five people, have begged me into running projects for them and leading people.   This sounds like I am terrible at boundaries but I'm a mess.   I get trapped in logical arguments and manipulations that really lock me into things.   I never pay attention to the details of things when people ask me "what are you doing Saturday morning" or "can you help sort this grant proposal" I answer honestly and then I get caught in a whirlwind.   What started as helping sort out intellectual property for old patents I was part of had become me advising dozens of employees, being on the contracting side of a major grant to develop a new product and having my name tied to many things in the company.   I kept trying to help them out and at the same time stay balanced.   They're nice but all lawyers and they catch me with ma