Overcoming N Family Rules and Self Love

Started by bee well, May 12, 2022, 11:50:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bee well

Jerry Wise has a series on you tube called "Keys to Overcoming Narcissistic Family Rules." It is divided in parts. In "Keys to Overcoming Narcissistic Family Rules 4-6" he does a great talk on self love.

I like this quote:
"Love and respect from others is the icing on the cake. It's not the cake, it's the icing on the cake."

If the topics interest you, I recommend watching the series.

treesgrowslowly

Thanks for posting about that Bee Well.

This is my first time watching a Jerry Wise video. I like his style. The first message in that video is resonating with me today - in an N family, making mistakes was shameful.

After I went NC, I then went on to devote years (and years, and years) trying to create my own support system / community / circle of concern / replacement family (whatever it gets called, it all comes down to wanting to belong). Nothing that I did during that period, succeeded. It was a failure. I made huge mistakes in terms of who I let in, who I spent all my time with, who I tried to befriend during those years.

Making peace with this has been really hard! I think a few Jerry Wise videos might be very helpful as I think about this!

Thanks!

Trees

bee well

Hi trees,

I'm glad you like Jerry Wises' video. I like his style too.

The thing about making mistakes being shameful resonates. It's really ingrained. And we are talking about minute mistakes that are definitely not the end of the world. It's such a waste of time how much energy gets put into that mindset.

Rebuilding a community, etc.  is where I am, and it is hard. (The support on this forum, and the variety of other resources out there, are invaluable in that process.)

After going NC, there was a domino effect. It's amazing how that happens.