Possible that son could have picked up BPD traits from his mother

Started by verum71, August 05, 2022, 11:35:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

verum71

I am new to this parenting board and needing some help.  My 19 y/o son is struggling with mental health and addiction.  He is currently homeless as of the the last 3 days.  he had a breakdown and my BPDx (his mother) went up there to try and convince him to go a mental health facility, detox, or a shelter.  In the end, he went to a hospital for a 24 hour hold, which he stayed at until the following morning and left.  I spoke to him on the phone yesterday and asked him what came about from his hospital visit - were they recommending detox?  He told the hospital staff he was using opiates during his admission (his mom had told me this - she took him in).  He said he has been sober for 2 months to me on the phone.  Then he said the only reason he went to the hospital was to take a shower.  Before he went to the hospital, he berated everyone for abandoning him and it was everybody else's fault that he was in the situation that he is in.  That is a quick summary of events.
Backtrack like 13 years ago  - the circumstances currently with my son  were almost identical with my son's borderline mother.  My Borderline ex was diagnosed in 2004 - we got divorced in 2009.  it was a crazy time in 2009 - she was hospitalized during the evening - decided she was ready to leave the next day and didn't need to be there.  The circumstances are eerily identical to a fault. 
I guess where I am going with all of this is that I am seeing borderline traits and tendencies in my son's behavior - he is not diagnosed.  Anyboday have any similar experiences like this?  Any feedback would be greatly appreciated

xredshoesx