Making my way out

Started by teatreehuile, December 06, 2022, 04:33:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

teatreehuile

Hello all, I'm so glad my therapist turned me onto this site. I'll get to how I found this wonderful place, but let me introduce myself and describe my situation.

From a high level, I'm a working professional and sole breadwinner. DW was raised by NPD and is likely NPD herself. She also has GAD (on SSRI, but perhaps not 100% managed), and it has been a heavy burden on our double-digit year marriage. No kids, thankfully, we decided early on that no kids was the way to go due to theological differences.

For myself, I am the baby of a rather large religious family, but I decided to leave the religion in my late teens. Part off the baggage I acquired from this religion was the whole "service before self" and I took that to heart. Add onto that being very empathetic, it's easy to see why I fell into this trap. DW was raised in a fundamentalist religion as a NPD pastor's daughter.