uBPD mother going silent before Christmas - worried about my son

Started by Watermellow, December 20, 2022, 08:00:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Watermellow

Hi,

I am new to Out of the FOG, I said "Hi" on the Welcome Mat today but I also wanted to say thank you here - this forum already helped me a lot  :)

I am having a hard time lately due to some recent events. I thought I would post here as unfortunately my husband and friends - as supportive as they are - are unable to understand the problem with PD.

So few words of introduction: we are living about 20 minutes from my uNPD mother with my DH and DS who is almost 4. Since my DS was a baby my mother was helping us out quite a lot, she really seemed attach to my son and she also seemed to like spending time with him. No comparison to how she treated me and my sister when we were children, I am talking physical and emotional abuse.

Anyways they had good time together and I even thought she changed. The thing is she never respected boundries that I set regarding my son(sweets, presents, general spoiling) but we really needed this help and after many conversations with her I turned blind eye to it for some time. I don't feel good about it but we were very tired young parents. Also I did not consider her as any threat to him.