My Story and Advice to Improve My Life

Started by Beholder, December 27, 2022, 09:26:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beholder

Hi Everyone,

I am 42 years old and male.  I just found this website.

My mother has narcissistic personality disorder and I spent most of my life living with narcissistic abuse; I was the scapegoat in my family.  She isolated me from family, sabotaged friendships, told me regularly that I was sick and disturbed, encouraged and threatened physical abuse from my father on me, repeatedly threw me out of the house, multiple times had me arrested for mental health concerns that she made up, tried to give me a criminal record, blamed me for all her mental health problems and all the problems in the family.  The worst thing she did to me was sabotage my schooling, since I was a straight A student and cared a lot about school this was devastating to me.

I have had no contact from all family members for over 15 years.  I made this decision then mostly as an emotional response; I thought it was the only way to avoid suicide and stay alive.  Now I know that what I did was a normal and correct response to narcissistic abuse.  I have no social media and my family has none of my contact info.  It is for the best, but I am very lonely with no family and barely any friends.

I developed ulcerative colitis, psoriasis, chronic bronchitis and bipolar disorder.  Although not the sole causal factor, I believe narcissistic abuse to be the major factor that caused these things.  I have put a great deal of effort into healing in my life and I no longer have symptoms of the first three diseases.  I have been working on bipolar disorder in the last year which I now realize is a combination of that as well as CPTSD.  This has led me to come to terms with narcissistic abuse and having no family which up until recently was so painful that I couldn't think about it.