What would you guys do?? Dilemma over property

Started by MarriedFroggy88, April 19, 2023, 11:38:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MarriedFroggy88

Let's say my NPDfather groomed me into becoming an exact replica of himself.
I studied what he wanted, I worked for him 7 years, and during that time he used me to sign papers for him, to use my bank account to avoid taxes, and tricked me into signing for a property, claiming it was my inheritance (when in reality he just wanted to avoid taxes again).
Well, cue some years later, his company goes bankrupt (because surprise, he mismanaged it and used company money for personal use, etc), gets sued by his workers and asks me to kindly sell the land and give him all the money to pay his debts.

Up to this point I was still enmeshed and agreed to it.
However, my DH and his family, who has been very kind to me, told me to stand up for myself and keep the money, since it was my land and it was not my responsibility to fix his mess. But I was in the FOG, and still wanted to help him.
I decided to pay a fraction of his debts with the money and keep the rest, because I knew that if I gave him everything, he would just spend it and go on trips with my also NPDmother, to whom I was already NC with.

Well, my flying monkey sister who I suspect is also NPD, berated me, saying that money is not mine, that I'm betraying the family and am stealing from my poor elderly parents (who are still young, btw 67 and 52 y/o). She said pretty hurtful things and for a moment I felt FOG again, feeling terribly guilty and miserable. But once I recovered, I realized that it's my right to stand up for myself.