Older kid is in college, younger kid is 16. Better to stay until both are out?

Started by IsleOfSong, August 17, 2023, 07:03:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IsleOfSong

I have been contemplating leaving my uPDW for many years now, and now that our youngest (our son, age 16) is a junior in high school, I've had two people (one being my mother) tell me that, at this point, I should probably wait until he's off to college before doing something so drastic as divorcing his mother. I realize that there's no one-size-fits-all answer to this, but what do you all think? I trust the peanut gallery here for good insights, so I'm open to hearing any input.

As a bit more background, our son has frequently been the scapegoat child in his mom's eyes (while our daughter, who's off at college, tends to get more of a pass from her on things). As a result, he often comes to me first with questions or issues, and he can get hyper-defensive (particularly with her) over the smallest of things. As for me, staying for two more years of my life in a marriage that's far from happy is a tall order, but it could be done if it means less upheaval for our son as he hunkers down with school and eventually college applications — and I'm there to snuff out any discord between mother and son. At the same time, the flare-ups between him and his mother are quite frequent, and I'm sick of either refereeing their squabbles or flat-out confronting my wife on her harsh treatment of him, which at its worst can include the silent treatment and guilt-induced shame over trivial matters. Maybe a split sooner — especially now that he's more mature vs. when he was a little kid — could be beneficial for his focus as he prepares for his future.

Does anyone here regret leaving their PD spouse while the kids were still at home? Has anyone seen their school-age kids' quality of life actually improve once a split from a PD spouse has happened?

notrightinthehead