I have a sister

Started by BeautifulCrazy, September 13, 2023, 02:28:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BeautifulCrazy

I am new to this part of the forum. I have a sister with a PD and/or mental illness, but I have not had consistent contact with her since we were teens. (She has been diagnosed variously over the years as either Bipolar or Borderline PD) Now that I am thinking about it, we haven't actually spoken in 5 or 6 years. It isn't intentional on my part, I just stopped being a source of supply, so I don't interest her much anymore. My mum keeps in regular contact with her, but she tends to ignore mum's calls, texts and messages most of the time. When she does respond to mum, her manner is unpredictable. Usually if she responds to mum or, heaven forbid, actually reaches out first, it is because she needs or wants something.

For decades now, interactions with my sister follow a reliable pattern:
-She makes some type of contact.
-She demands resources, help, or, at absolute minimum, time and attention.
-She gets upset at not having her way, or at some perceived slight.
-She causes chaos and hurt. (Scorched earth style)
-She leaves. (This may be for days, weeks, months or even years.)

My mum recently found out she has cancer. It's bad. She won't be here for much longer.
Naturally, she reached out to my sister to give her the news.
So now, added to this situation that is absolutely horrible and heartrending and difficult, we have this utterly insane and destructive person.

I have so many complicated and mixed up feelings about her.
She is my baby sister and I love her.
I hate her and I wish she would disappear.
I wish she would get herself together and just be a normal and loving daughter to my mum.
She always hurts my mum, who is the most loving and lovable and incredible person and she doesn't deserve to be always getting hurt and taken advantage of.