Triggered by bereaved friend

Started by Kaz1956, February 24, 2024, 05:25:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kaz1956

My husband has a male cousin that I have known for 40+ years, we are all in our 60's. For many years we were not in touch but 18 years ago we reconnected with him and his new partner and then husband. The cousin was always a self-absorbed, grumpy and demanding person but at times could be fun. His husband was an enabler but was sunny, funny and a lovely man. His main role in life seemed to be managing his husband's moods. Nonetheless we spent lots of time with them, including travel and staying over.
Six months ago, the husband died suddenly and tragically in another country while they were on holidays. The cousin was distraught and was also mildly injured.
I was a nurse for 40 years and managed complex rehabilitation cases including insurance. For this reason my husband and I volunteered for one of us to fly to help and it made sense for me to go given my experience. I flew 10 hours on 12 hours notice.
While in the country where the incident happened it was extremely intense. The cousin wanted his husband cremated in the country and not at home. There were complex insurance, funeral and financial arrangements for me to resolve. The cousin was checked out, rarely calm and often bizarre, distraught but always demanding to the point of being a bully. I allowed it all given the distressing situation but found it almost overwhelming. I have cPTSD from uNPD parents and uBPD and uNPD siblings. I have one non brother thankfully.