Don't know what to do

Started by hollow, April 15, 2024, 11:28:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hollow

I'm a college student (non-US based) with a year left to graduate but I don't think I'll be able to handle living in this house anymore. I have some money saved up but I'm not working right now. Nor do I have a car. My sister or mother drop me off to college everyday and I refuse to get out of the house if it means I have to rely on them because they'll no doubt throw a tantrum that I'm not spending time with my mom. I can't even study because I'm so stressed out. My grades keep falling and I honestly don't think it's worth it to stay so my mom pays my tuition fees. What do I do first? Rent an apartment with the money I have saved up (the money is 4 times the rent in my country) and then look for a job and/or a car. Or get a a very cheap, very used car and then leave? There's no way she'll let me get a job. She already sabotaged my first job a semester ago and forbade me from dropping out. But I'd rather take a leave of absence or something like that after this semester is over and done with. I ask because this is the only avenue I have left. The DV helpline said they couldn't help me move out and the police do not interfere unless I'm being physically abused. I feel trapped and it sucks. I'm getting suicidal the more I stay here, wasting away and being treated like a child.

Defiantdaughter1

I know exactly how you feel. I was once a college student dependent on my father's financial support. He was a tyrant, dictator, control freak, and alcoholic.  Those were miserable years. I was trapped because I couldn't support myself until I finished school. I wish I had advice for you, but I don't. I just focused on my studies and I knew my education was my ticket out of that house. I thought the day would never come, but it finally came. Life is so much easier now.

Rebel13

Hi hollow,