Hello and thank you

Started by Beachstone, November 08, 2023, 06:17:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beachstone

Hello everyone!

Firstly, thank you for such a terrific site and forum. I've been absorbing the articles and forum chat for a few months, plus many of the recommended books and videos, and I'm enormously grateful.

A bit about my situation. I've been in a relationship with my SO for 11 years, and we have a 9 year old son.

My partner has been quite open with me about his OCD, anxiety, alcohol and cannabis addiction, and depression. Some years ago he mentioned briefly that he was told by a psychologist or psychiatrist that he might have BPD (I didn't know what it was at the time.) I forgot about this until recently, when I was at my wits end trying to figure out what was behind the rages, disordered thinking, substance abuse, low self esteem and then remorse.
I started reading about BPD - and oh boy - it sure sounds like him. He seems to meet all the criteria. He is in therapy, but appointments are infrequent and I don't think address BPD.

For a long time, I thought the rages were my fault, I thought I could help. I now realise there is nothing I can do.

As I sit here, staying out of his way after another rage followed by silent treatment for the last 3 days, I am thinking I need to look at separating as I'm so so tired of treading on eggshells. It may take months or years to make this happen, but I can already see our son has trouble regulating emotions and I worry about the influence his Dad's rages must be having on him.

He was away recently for work for 2 months, and life was definitely easier for me. My son missed him though.

Before my partner, I was in a relationship, with someone I'm pretty sure was NPD, for 8 years. I'm still getting over that traumatic relationship. My grandmother also fits the NPD picture as have former bosses. I have form with these people!