No headspace for grieving

Started by sambellscoup, August 24, 2021, 07:22:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sambellscoup

Due to being a musician, I'm always put on the spot for music needs in the family. I missed my grandmother's funeral last winter due to the virus and I have nearly a year of pent-up grief and stress over it. There's a memorial service organised for later this year, but because I know the narcissistic family members will be expecting/pressuring me to be the Human Jukebox, I've been unable to just focus on my grief and I've been stressing literally all year long about just how the heck I'm going to manage to force myself into a fit state for playing music.

I feel like I'm having to repress so much passion and grief until after the memorial service, when in fact the memorial service is supposed to be helping me grieve. But I know I'll be expected and pressured to help everyone else grieve.

I'm also worried that no other music will be organised for the day so if I do nothing, it'll be quiet and there'll be big horrible silences during which I'll feel horrible guilt for not performing. But I'm afraid of even trying to talk to anyone about it because I'm scared that that'll be the beginning of pulling on the pressure.

I can't trust them to have empathy for me.
I can't trust them not to spring something on me on the day.
I can't trust them to care what their behaviours and expectations are doing to me.
I can't trust them to understand and not punish me if u decide the memorial service is just too much and I need to just go be alone by the grave instead.

I've lost my dearly loved Nana, and I'm suffering the fear of PD relatives' punishment in place of getting access dividing on the woman who actually deserves/deserved my attention. I've lost her, and I've lost a year of grieving her properly, and I don't feel free to grieve until some vague time in the future.