Holiday Ambush

Started by junedee, November 27, 2021, 03:02:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

junedee

Hello-
This is my first time posting, but I have been a long time lurker. My parents are divorced, my mom is uPD. The past 5 years since the divorce has been very VERY difficult with my uPD mom. She is a "queen" type with narcissistic traits and is often prone to EXTREME rages. After leaving my dad, she met someone online (immediately) and moved thousands of miles away from my (then) teenage brother to live with them. They have since become married.
My siblings (there are four of us) and I are all 18+ at this point and my brother (now that he isn't constrained by custody) doesn't want to visit my mom for the Holidays. She asked to Zoom with all of us on Thanksgiving, as we were all separated all over the country with our respective significant others and she wanted to wish us all Happy Thanksgiving.
As suspected, her intention was not to wish us a Happy Thanksgiving, but to ambush us about plans for Christmas, which she (of course) insisted should include the four of us and our partners traveling thousands of miles to her new state because being close to my father causes her "physical pain"  :doh: and she "refuses" to come to the state we all will be in because it will "kill" her. She even said, "I have given you all enough over the years. It is time you give something back to me."  :aaauuugh: (To make this even more insane, all of my siblings, myself, and all of our partners traveled to her state for her wedding to the person she left our father for UNDER A MONTH ago- where we all were put to work the entire time we were there with absolutely no acknowledgment)
About five minutes into the call and not getting the response she wanted (which would be 100% compliance to her will with no consideration for our feelings) she began screaming at the top of her lungs and crying hysterically, telling us all how much we don't love her and yada yada.