Waif mother and her flying monkey's

Started by ohsotired, October 29, 2021, 01:53:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ohsotired

I am new to seeing and understanding that my mother is the waif archetype. I have been given the caretaker role my whole life and have been finally pushing back on shedding that responsibility for about a year now. Slowly I have been moving further and further away from rushing in and rescuing and fixing my mothers constant problems. She has untreated trauma and crippling anxiety that leaves her quite the hermit. After years of trying out different approaches and tactics with no changes, I grew more and more resentful with every panicked phone call demanding I calm her down. It was really thrown in my face when, as a first responder through covid, I began to have my own issues with PTSD and daily anxiety. I expected my mother to be sympathetic and nurturing but instead she was upset that I wasn't able to meet her needs now. I wasn't allowed to take care of my needs or my health over hers. I went through an extremely painful bout of shingles and yet again, she was put off that I was out of commission. I have had enough and feeling the anger she is having with my stepping away and not responding to her texts begging me to 'cure' her anxiety that morning.