procrastination

Started by Jolie40, October 03, 2020, 05:16:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jolie40

could procrastination be a result of growing up in a chaotic family?

did the tax extension form this year & taxes are due soon & just can't get started
this covid thing & not being able to do normal things has me plain worn out

taxes are my job so can't ask husband
I've always done them & he only checks my math

how do I get motivated?
this procrastination is something I do need to work on as taxes aren't the only thing I put off

anyone else a procrastinator?
be good to yourself

GettingOOTF

I have been reading a lot about how procrastination is a form of anxiety.

I grew up on a chaotic house and projects etc. were never finished. I'm a terrible procrastinator and I tend to go in to things 100% but rarely finish anything. I started painting my living room in May. I only finished this weekend. I lived for months with half painted trim and painters tape all over. It took just under two hours to finish vs starring at it everyday and being stressed for months.

I'm working on finishing small things now. One of my big issues is I never open mail. It's so silly. So now I'm working on that. I out off the most ridiculous things then I spend all this time thinking and stressing about how I should be starting them.

Jolie40

thanks for your input GettingOOTF
didn't know procrastination was a sign of anxiety

thought maybe it could be a sign of perfectionism
takes a lot of time & effort to do things perfectly so I'll do that tomorrow....
be good to yourself

blacksheep7

Quote from: Jolie40 on October 03, 2020, 05:16:46 PM
could procrastination be a result of growing up in a chaotic family?

did the tax extension form this year & taxes are due soon & just can't get started
this covid thing & not being able to do normal things has me plain worn out

taxes are my job so can't ask husband
I've always done them & he only checks my math

how do I get motivated?